IUPAC Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering

2023 Awardees

- Professor Lidia Armelao, National Research Council and University of Padova, Italy
- Professor Annette G. Beck-Sickinger, Leipzig University, Germany
- Professor Chunying Chen, National Center for Nanoscience and Technology of China, Beijing, China
- Professor Bin Liu, National University of Singapore, Singapore
- Dr Laura McConnell, Bayer U.S., Crop Science Division, USA
- Professor Marcia Foster Mesko, Federal University of Pelotas, Brazil
- Professor Jyotirmayee Mohanty, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, India
- Professor Tatjana Parac-Vogt, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
- Professor Gill **Reid**, University of Southampton, UK
- Professor Mikiko Sodeoka, RIKEN, Japan
- Professor Nguyen T. K. Thanh University College London, UK
- Dr Marinda Wu, Dow Chemicals, USA

2021 Awardees

- Professor Abeer Al Bawab, The University of Jordan, Amman, Jordan
- Professor Anne Andrews, University of California in Los Angeles, CA, USA
- Professor Mei-Hung Chiu, National Taiwan Normal University, Taipei, China/Taipei
- Professor Jingbo Liu, Texas A&M University-Kingsville and TAMU Energy Institute, TX, USA
- Professor Katja Loos, University of Groningen, Netherlands
- Professor Marcy Towns, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA
- Professor Françoise M. Winnik, University of Helsinki, Finland
- Professor Barbara Baird, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
- Dr. Rachel Mamlok-Naaman, The Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
- Professor Kyoko Nozaki, The University of Tokyo, Japan
- Professor Martina Stenzel, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia
- Professor Supawan Tantayanon, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand

2019 Awardees

- Professor Kim Baldridge, School Pharmaceutical Science and Technology, Tianjin, China
- Professor Donna Blackmond, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA, USA
- Professor Susan Bourne, Department of Chemistry, Rondebosch, South Africa
- Professor Janine Cossy, ESPCI, Paris, France
- Professor Vicki Grassian, University of California San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA
- Professor Otilia Mó Romero, Univ Autonoma Madrid, Madrid, Spain
- Professor Elizabeth Ann Nalley, Cameron University, Lawto, OK, USA
- Professor Carol Vivien Robinson, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom
- Professor Molly Shoichet, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada
- Professor Luisa Torsi, University of Bari Aldo Moro, Bari, Italy
- Professor Chris Willis, School of Chemistry, Bristol, United Kingdom
- Professor Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede, Chalmers University, Gothenburg, Sweden

2017 Awardees

- Professor Misako Aida, Hiroshima University, Japan
- Professor Lifeng Chi, Soochow University, Suzhou, China
- Professor M. Concepción Gimeno, Institute of Chemical Synthesis and Homogeneous Catalysis (ISQCH), CSIC-University of Zaragoza, Spain
- Dr Jaqueline Kiplinger, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM, United States
- Professor Zafra Lerman, Malta Conferences Foundation, Evanston, IL, United States
- Professor Thisbe K. Lindhorst, Universität Kiel, Germany
- Professor Ekaterina Lokteva, M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow, Russia
- Professor Yvonne Mascarenhas, University of Sao Paulo, Sao Carlos, Brazil
- Dr Veronika Ruth Meyer, Empa St. Gallen (retired), Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Switzerland
- Professor Ingrid Montes-González, University of Puerto Rico, San Juan, Puerto Rico
- Professor Frances Separovic, University of Melbourne, Australia
- Professor Jihong Yu, Jilin University, China

2015 Awardees

- Professor Lucia Banci, University of Florence, Florence, Italy
- Professor Margret Brimble, The University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
- Professor Ewa Bulska, Uniwersytet Warszawski, Warsaw, Poland
- Professor Karen Gleason, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA
- Professor Janet Hering, Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science & Technology, Dübendorf, Switzerland
- Professor Nadia G. Kandile, Ain Shams University, Heliopolis, Cairo, Egypt
- Professor Maki Kawai, RIKEN & The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
- Professor Hyunjoo Lee, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon,
 South Korea
- Professor Carmen Najera, University of Alicante, Alicante, Spain
- Professor Helga Rübsamen-Schaeff, AiCuris GmbH & Co. KG, Wuppertal, Germany
- Professor Roberta Sessoli, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Florence, Italy
- Professor Livia Simon Sarkadi, Corvinus University of Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

2013 Awardees

- Professor Irina P. Beletskaya, Moscow State University, Russia
- Dr Annette Doherty, GlaxoSmithKline Plc, UK
- Professor Mary Garson, University of Queensland, Australia
- Professor Evamarie Hey-Hawkins, University of Leipzig, Germany
- Professor Kazue Kurihara, Tohoku University, Japan
- Professor Liliana Mammino, University of Venda, South Africa
- Professor Elsa Reichmanis, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
- Professor Concepció Rovira, Institute of Materials Science of Barcelona, Spain
- Professor Maria Vallet-Regi, Universidad Complutense, Spain
- Professor Angela Wilson, University of North Texas, USA
- Professor Yi Xie, University of Science & Technology of China

2011 Awardees

- Professor Nouria A. Al-Awadi, Kuwait University, Kuwait
- Professor Faizah Mohammed Abdel Mohsin Al-Kharafi, Kuwait University, Kuwait
- Professor Ayse Aroguz, Istanbul University, Turkey

- Professor Vanderlan Bolzani, São Paulo State University, Araraquara Brazil
- Dr. Novella Bridges, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, United States of America
- Professor Luisa De Cola, University of Strasbourg (France), Germany
- Dr. Joanna Fowler, Brookhaven National Laboratory, United States of America
- Professor Véronique Gouverneur, University of Oxford, England, United Kingdom
- Professor Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus, University of Bielefeld, Germany
- Professor Magdolna Hargittai, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary
- Dr. Nancy B. Jackson, Sandia National Laboratories, United States of America
- Professor Susan M. Kauzlarich, University of California-Davis, United States of America
- H.R.H. Princess Chulabhorn Mahidol, Chulabhorn Research Institute, Thailand
- Professor Nicole J. Moreau, Ecole Nationale Superieure de Chimie de Paris, France
- Professor Linda F. Nazar, University of Waterloo, Canada
- Professor Izabela Nowak, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland
- Dr. Carolyn Ribes, The Dow Chemical Company, Terneuzen, Netherlands
- Professor Sara Snogerup Linse, Lund University, Sweden
- Professor Yoshie Souma, Kobe University, Japan
- Professor Natalia Tarasova, D.I. Mendeleev University of Chemical Technology, Russia
- Professor Klára Tóth, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary
- Professor Lesley J. Yellowlees, University of Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
- Professor Ada E. Yonath, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

Initiated as part of the 2011 International Year of Chemistry celebrations, this awards program acknowledges and promotes the work of women chemists/chemical engineers worldwide.

In 2011, 23 women were honored during a ceremony held at the IUPAC Congress in San Juan, Puerto Rico, on 2 August 2011. In 2013, 11 women received this recognition during the 2013 IUPAC Congress in Istanbul, Turkey. At each of the subsequent IUPAC Congresses, 12 women received this recognition: in Busan, Korea in 2015, in Sao Paulo, Brazil in 2017, and in Paris, France in July 2019. In 2021, the presentation was made virtual in place of Montreal as originally planned.

https://iupac.org/what-we-do/awards/iupac-distinguished-women/